I have actually been nominated for the Writer Award before. This is a cool program! From AZGFD:

Game and Fish Commission solicits nominations for 2008 awards

The Arizona Game and Fish Commission is soliciting nominations for its 2008 Commission Awards to recognize Arizonans who have contributed significantly to the welfare of the state’s wildlife and the mission of the Arizona Game and Fish Department.

Nominations may include individuals, organizations, clubs, foundations or government agencies. Arizona Game and Fish Department employees are not eligible for nomination.

Categories for nomination include: Award of Excellence, Youth Environmentalist of the Year, Outdoor Writer of the Year, Media of the Year, Conservation Organization of the Year, Conservationist of the Year, Outdoor Woman of the Year, Environmentalist of the Year, Volunteer of the Year, Educator of the Year, and License Dealer of the Year.

To download a nomination form, visit www.azgfd.gov/commission and follow the awards link.

Return the nomination form and all supplemental materials to: Arizona Game and Fish Department, Attn: Marty Fabritz – DOHQ, 5000 W. Carefree Highway, Phoenix, AZ 85086. Forms can also be faxed to (623) 236-7299 or e-mailed to either [email protected] or [email protected] Submission deadline is 5 p.m., Aug. 1, 2008.

Another award category for which nominations are being solicited is the Wildlife Habitat Stewardship Award. This award recognizes nongovernmental entities that have excelled in the preservation, enhancement or creation of land management practices beneficial to Arizona’s wildlife resources.

Nominees for the Wildlife Habitat Stewardship Award must be a legal resident of Arizona, control a minimum of 160 acres in the state, be engaged in agribusiness sometime in the last five years on at least 50 percent of their land, allow public recreational access to at least 50 percent of the land under their control, and must exercise wildlife habitat conservation and enhancement practices. Nominations meeting these criteria will be circulated to the Landowner-Lessee-Sportsman Committee, which will recommend nominees to the Game and Fish Commission for final selection.

To download a nomination form, visit www.azgfd.gov/commission and follow the awards link.

The awards will be presented to the winners at the Meet the Commission banquet on Jan. 17, 2009, at the Four Points by Sheraton Phoenix North at 10220 N. Metro Parkway East, Phoenix.